Writing to S3 bucket

I’m tearing my hair out trying to do a simple file copy to an S3 bucket.

S3 extension 0.9.4.122 is installed, Application.cfc includes:

<cfset this.s3.accesskeyid="#accesskey#">
<cfset this.s3.awssecretkey="#secretkey#">

My page includes the following tag:
<cffile action="copy" source="c:\temp\temp.txt" destination="s3:///#bucketname#/temp.txt">
And I get the error:
Can't copy file [c:\temp\temp.txt] to [s3:///[bucketname]/temp.txt]; Access Denied

I have an IAM user whose credentials I use above and the access key’s “Last used” time corresponds with the last time I ran my script. The user’s permission includes the AmazonS3FullAccess policy below:

{
    "Version": "2012-10-17",
    "Statement": [
        {
            "Effect": "Allow",
            "Action": "s3:*",
            "Resource": "*"
        }
    ]
}

Is there something I have overlooked?

Thanks… Simon

Java Version: Adopt 11.0.7
Tomcat Version: 9.0.35
Lucee Version: 5.3.7.47

I’ve no experience with S3. But is there any chance that this is a file permission issue with your c:\temp\temp.txt? Does Tomcat have file permissions to read it?

It doesn’t seem to be an issue with permissions reading the local file. There is no problem with:

<cffile action="copy" source="c:\temp\temp.txt" destination="c:\temp\temp1.txt">

Have you been able to read any data from your bucket? Are you receiving an Access Denied also then?

Thanks for the cues Andreas. No problems reading from any buckets.

The issue turned out to the Permissions on the bucket. You need to turn off the “Block public access to buckets and objects granted through new access control lists (ACLs)” option, which overrides any permissions you set up through IAM if you want to Write to a bucket. Interesting that you can still Read from a bucket with “Block all public access” enabled.

Simon

1 Like