Why CF

Adam Cameron wrote this blog (
Adam Cameron's Dev Blog: CFML: does it have a USP any more? )
which was a spin-off of a thread on this list.

My take on CF, the language. First lets get out of the way programming
experience. I started programming in 1980 long before CF or the web. I
have used around 25 computer language to include Assembler, Java and Visual
Basic. So learning something new is not an issue. I can do that in about
a month. But I have used CF day in and day out for the last 15 years. The
main reason is bang for your buck. Getting stuff done in CF is easy. If I
need to talk to the database I simply use cfquery (tag or script). Nothing
gets in my way since I can stuff any valid SQL between my tags.
Need to talk to a 3rd party on the web, makes that easy. Need to
keep my variable space clean then use cffunction. Have you ever tried to
do some of these things with other languages? Let’s just say not easy.
Maybe that has changed I don’t know because what I have works.

Need to add some functions not in CF or Lucee? Add a jar file, create an
object and you are in business. All of the Java world is open to me by
this one feature. Need something to run faster, write your own java class
and you just extended the language. Back before encryption was built in I
write CF_Enigma, a java based blowfish encryption engine. It was easy and
fast.

Now there comes another selling point for CF. For a number of years I was
a contract programmer. So short term projects. In my travels the average
PHP programmer makes $40K to $50K per year. The average CF programmer
makes $70K. Big difference. On contract gigs the amounts go up. Around
$50 / hour for a good contract programmer is normal and I have seen as much
as $90 / hour. Maybe PHP guys pull in those amounts but I have not seen it.

Andrew Penhorwood