Set page encoding and suppression of white spaces in Application.cfc

Hi!

I’m a web developer new to Lucee and CFML, and as soon as I started exploring the features present in these technologies I’ve found out how easy and straight forward it is to develop data-driven web apps with them.

But I came across a thing that I personally consider an issue. If I wanted to define page encoding, I had to use in every template I used in my application. The same way, I had to use the same tag to remove white spaces. Yes, I discovered that I could change the settings of default encoding and spaces directly in the server panel, but I was wondering why not allow that to be set per application in the Application.cfc like this:

component {
     this.defaultPageEncoding = "utf-8";
     this.suppressWhiteSpaces = true;
}

Another thing is create the ability to bypass some tags when it comes to white spaces in which would be interesting to maintain them such as “<pre>” for instance.

That’s it for now!

\m/

1 Like

Hi Jhonatan, welcome to our community. Really great to see new members here around showing such enthusiasm and energy :smiley:

I think your proposal is a great idea, and I think that would be a really nice to have. Don’t know if anybody of the lucee team thought already about it.