PDF extension won't install

I have been using CFML with Lucee for over 10 years, but until now have not had to install anything beyond the original installation. Now my customer needs PDF files created on the fly from CFML/HTML so I read up on the tags and the sketchy information that is available about Flying Saucer. Is Flying Saucer still the recommended extension for PDFs? Is FS the PDF extension that my version of Lucee came preinstalled with?

In any case, I installed Ant with no problems. (See “stack” info below.) I went into my Lucee Server Admin to see about installing the PDF extension. It said I already have version 1.0.0.68 installed, and lists the following as available versions: 1.1.0.19, 1.1.0.7, 1.0.0.94, 1.0.0.80, 1.0.0.75, 1.0.0.72, 1.0.0.67, 1.0.0.66, 1.0.0.65, 1.0.0.64, 1.0.0.63, 1.0.0.62, 1.0.0.61, 1.0.0.60, 1.0.0.59, 1.0.0.58, 1.0.0.57, 1.0.0.56, 1.0.0.55, 1.0.0.54, 1.0.0.53, 1.0.0.52, 1.0.0.51, 1.0.0.50, 1.0.0.49, 1.0.0.48, 1.0.0.16, 1.0.0.15

I tried to upgrade to the latest version, using the “Update or downgrade your already installed version.” by selecting “update to 1.1.0.19.”

That didn’t work. It took many minutes and then filled up the screen with garbage. There was no error message. I logged out of the Lucee server and logged back in. It still said I have 1.0.0.68 installed, and lists the same available versions as above.

I don’t know what to do from here. Should I update to each successive version above my current one until I reach 1.1.0.19? That would require me to do 6 updates, which I’m okay with as long as that is the best thing for me to do. If you think there is a better way for me to do this, you’ll have to explain it on a VERY newbie level so that I can understand it. There is also an option to uninstall. Should I be uninstalling before attempting to update?

Don’t forget to tell us about your stack!

Java Version: 11.0.16
Ant Version: 1.9.16 (installed today)
Tomcat Version: 8.0.32
Lucee Version: 5.2.5.20

Thanks,
Zy