Lucee server hardening

Java Version: 11.0.20+8
Tomcat Version: 9.0.78
Lucee Version: 5.4.2.17

Hello, I am new to Lucee and am working on the security hardening of an existing installation. Versions as noted above. I know nothing about ColdFusion but a decent amount about Apache.

I found this guide: Lucee Security Best Practices :: Lucee Documentation but there are certain questions left unanswered.

For instance, this page on securing WEB-INF by moving it outside the document root: Securing /WEB-INF/ by moving it outside of the web root :: Lucee Documentation The page says HOW to do so but not WHY. It just says “if you wish to” but the page title would indicate there is some security implication of doing so or not doing so. So, what is the effect on security?

the idea is to keep everything out of the webroot that doesn’t need to be

i.e. nothing that doesn’t need to be publicly accessible should be under the webroot.

if you don’t do this, you need to add webserver rules to block access to /WEB-INF

Speaking of hardening your server, you shouldn’t be running 5.4.2.17, as it’s subject to a CVE

Hi Zackster, thanks for the quick response!

In our configuration everything coming on port 443 (if the servername is right) is redirected by Apache to Lucee like so:

<Location />
    ProxyPreserveHost On
    ProxyPass http://127.0.0.1:8888/
    ProxyPassReverse http://127.0.0.1:8888/
  </Location>
  <Location /lucee>
    Order Deny,Allow
    Deny from all
    Allow from 127.0.0.1
 </Location>