Launching Lucee in new MacOS install

Don’t forget to tell us about your stack!

macOS Big Sur 11.7.10:
Java Version: ???
Tomcat Version: 8.5.98
Lucee Version:6.0.0.585

I have Lucee running successfully on my Windows 10 desktop and I’m now trying to set it up on my Mac Laptop. I’m following the “Installing Tomcat and Lucee on Mac OS X using Lucee War file”. from the Lucee.org site.

I’m at step 5 (Create a startup.sh file…). I used the example shown but it fails with errors on lines 1 & 2:

./startup.sh: line 1: {rtf1ansiansicpg1252cocoartf2580: command not found
./startup.sh: line 2: syntax error near unexpected token }' ./startup.sh: line 2: \cocoatextscaling0\cocoaplatform0{\fonttbl\f0\fnil\fcharset0 HelveticaNeue-LightItalic;}’

I don’t understand what any of that means. I should also say that I’m fairly new to macOS. Anyway, I decided to enter the comands one by one into the terminal but I was confused by line one which was commented out but was suggesting to export CATALINA_HOME but other lines in the sh talk about CATALINA_BASE. This was all well above my knowledge level but I plowed on. I exported CATALINA_HOME, set the path for CATALINA_BASE and executed the last line beginning with EXECUTABLE. It failed because it knew nothing about a ‘run’ command.

Apart from taking this project on, where else have I gone wrong?

Two thoughts:

• First, as for the error, and given the reference to font names, I wonder if it’s a copy/paste issue. Those lines from that step 5 in the guide seem to be html-formatted. Depending on your browser and (more mportantly) your editor, you may have slipped in far more than just the lines shown. Can you double check? And what editor are you using? What do you see if you cat the file?

• Second, rather than that rather cumbersome (multistep) tomcat and war deployment process, consider trying instead the Lucee Express edition, which is far simpler and runs on Mac, Linux, and Windows.