Javax to jakarta

Has Lucee moved to using the jakarta.* name space from the javax.* name space?

nup, wanna help?

Maybe. Is it just a matter of changing the imports? Not sure how big a project that would be. I haven’t written java code in 20 years.

mostly, there’s a migration guide

I’m a cfml dev, dabbling in java to make Lucee cfml better

Do you have a link to this guide? I found this tool by Tomcat:

I’m not sure, @isapir knows much more about this stuff than me!

As Lucee uses it’s own bundled versions of these Libs, so @micstriit will need to make them available to Lucee before you can test any changes

I did a little research because I use Jetty as my servlet platform.

These platforms version have moved to the Jakarta namespace.

• Tomcat 10
  • Jetty 11
  • GlassFish 6
  • WildFly ( JBOSS ) 21.0.0

Oracle donated the Java EE (Enterprise Edition) to the Eclipse foundation, but refused to allow use of the “Java” name. Because of that the Jakarta Project, which is the new name for Java EE, could not use the javax namespaces in future development.

There was a lot of back and fourth on how to move forward, and the decision was to make an initial release where the only change is in the namespace renaming from javax to jakarta.

Lucee does not bundle a version of these classes itself - they come from the Servlet Container, e.g. Tomcat or Jetty, but it references them in the code so for example the Lucee code references javax.servlet.ServletConfig at Lucee/CFMLServlet.java at 6.0 · lucee/Lucee · GitHub which is in the javax namespace, but in Jakarta it has been moved from javax.servlet.ServletConfig to jakarta.servlet.ServletConfig

So if you run this version of Lucee in Tomcat 9 which bundles the javax.* namespace everything is fine, but if you run it in Tomcat 10 which bundles the jakarta.* namespace everything breaks.