Java Heap Space Errors

Forgive me as this may be a total newbie question, but here we go:

We are in the process of converting our environments from ColdFusion 16 to the latest Lucee release (5.2.9). We cannot seem to figure out the right combination of settings that will prevent us from getting a java heap space error. We can consistently reproduce the error with only a single user on our testing server. If we click around fast enough and hit a few searches within the app, we can get it to spin for 30 seconds and display the java heap error.

Our current testing server is an AWS m5.xlarge with 8gbs of memory. Java (1.8.0) settings are now back to the default with the exception of:
Initial Memory Pool: 1024
Max Memory Pool: 4096
Thread Stack Size: 1000

I know I will likely get a lot of “it depends” answers, but the fact that I can get a heap error with a single user makes me think its something pretty obvious.

Thanks,
md

Hi,

Windows or Linux? Can you post your “CATALINA_OPTS”?

Michael

Hello! This is a Windows Server 2016 Machine.

I looked at the tomcat/bin/catalina.bat file and found the following, doesn’t look like its set to anything. Is this the right place?

:doStop
shift
set ACTION=stop
set CATALINA_OPTS=
goto execCmd

:doConfigTest
shift
set ACTION=configtest
set CATALINA_OPTS=
goto execCmd

so the problem doesn’t occur with a single user if you do the same series of actions slowly?

Hello!

We created a Selenium script that clicks a series of links in the application so we can easily reproduce the error. We just ran at both half and quarter speed and we still get the error about 8 clicks in:

Lucee 5.2.9.31 Error (java.lang.OutOfMemoryError)
Message Java heap space
Java Stacktrace lucee.runtime.exp.NativeException: Java heap space
Caused by: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

We did modify the following in setenv.sh and it didnt seem to help:
CATALINA_OPTS=“-Xms1024m -Xmx4096m”;

Thanks,
md