Installing Lucee on AWS (EC2 or Lightsail)

Hi All,

My first post here so please go easy! :slight_smile:

I’m a long time CF developer who is trying to master AWS, I’ve recently setup a static site using S3 buckets and now I’d like to get some CF sites up and running via lucee.

I’ve read a lot of old posts on the topic but I can’t seem to find a great step by step guide that works.

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers

1 Like

Check out

Not much has changed from the install side, other than Lucee now does a far better job of handling the mod_proxy configuration for you.

1 Like

Many thanks Terry, having another bash at it now, will keep you posted!

Still no luck.

I’ve tried it on both the OS Only (Amazon Linux) and LAMP Stack options in Lightsail but I can never get the Apache connector part to work. On LAMP the default paths don’t exist (and when I updated them to the corresponding LAMP apache paths the install still failed).

When I tried it on the clean OS I installed Apache first so all the default paths were there but it still failed with the following error:

#Warning: Problem running post-install
step. Installation may not complete
correctly
Unknown error while running /opt/lucee/sys/install_mod_proxy.sh -m install -t

8888 -f /etc/httpd/conf/httpd.conf -c /usr/sbin/apachectl

It’s really sad to see all the other rival stack instances there and nothing you can run CF on.

I’m happy to write up a step by step afterwards as I can’t find one that works if anyone can help me through it, it’s sad to see nothing seems to exist for CF on AWS.

Finally got it working! :slight_smile:

Couple of issues:

-The curl command listed above does not work - I believe because the downloader on the lucee site performs a redirect.
-Needed to open 8888 on Lighsail firewall

and a few other minor things, writing it up now as now I know it’s pretty cool to be able to get Lucee up and running on Lightsail via the free tier

3 Likes