Help installing on windows 8.1

Hi Everyone,
I am a complete newbie to Lucee. I have Cold Fusion Development Server installed on my laptop and would like to install Lucee. Would anyone be kind enough to point me in the right direction?. I downloaded the windows installer package but it stated that it couldn’t be installed on windows 8.1.
Thank you,
Paul

Don’t forget to tell us about your stack!

Java Version: ???
Tomcat Version: ???
Lucee Version: ???

Hi @paulw, be very welcome to our community.

It depends very much on what you want to do on your Win 8.1. If what you want is pure development that doesn’t need any fronted web server and you are comming from Adobe, I recommend command box from ortus solutions. You can easily run a Lucee Server, Adobe Server and switching between versions of both cfengines becomes a piece of pie. It comes with many tools that will make life in both worlds easier (e.g. cfconfig). You can configure lots of webroots and run it how ever you want.
If you don’t like that approach and want to use Lucee only, you can download lucees express version. It is a kind of portable tomcat version that contains Lucee. But you’ll need to have JAVA JDK (e.g. AdoptJDK) pre installed on your development machine

If you want to install it with all along with IIS webserver: I remember I was able to do some time ago without problems with the installer. Don’t know how it is right now. But I think you’ll need to enable IIS first on Wins “add features” section. But if you are just starting with Lucee to try things out, do it with Express or CommandBox.

Have a.nice day.

ok thanks andreas. I’ll try the Express or CommandBox installations. If I get stuck is it appropriate to post to the community or would that be frowned upon?

Post away, this is the Lucee support forum!