Development Environment

Hi All,

I’m hoping to get some honest feedback on the development environment I’ve setup for my lucee app.

I’ll start by saying I was a tech and sales engineer for a small but successful datacenter in St. Louis for 10+ years, and they were a CentOS/vmWare heavy shop. I have quite a bit of experience in this realm so even thought their might be better solutions out there (amazon?), this is what I’m comfortable with maintaining and will most easily be able to support. I’m also working with the datacenter to support this app so I have additional motivation to use CentOS and vmWare.

That said, I’ve been a stay at home dad for the last 2 years and I kind of feel like I’m working in a vacuum these days, so I’d like to gather my thoughts and get some checks/balances on my approach.

Thanks! I’ll get right to it.

Hosting – I currently have a single server for dev running vmWare at the datacenter. (devHost01). I’m currently working on a plan to upgrade this server to more current architecture, but for now it runs ok with a dozen or so bare bone vms. The datacenter has a handfull of spare servers I can grab at any time if this fails, and I don’t consider it mission critical atm.

I also have 2 additional vmWare servers setup for an initial launch. I call them prodhost01 and prodhost02. They are nicer IBM xseries servers each having a 10 disc raid 10 array (15k sas) with 4 hot spares. The current vmWare build doesn’t support transparent failover between each server yet, but I have a plan with the datacenter crew to get that upgraded soon and likely before I’d actually put anything in production. But as for now I at least have 2 hot servers I can use for live, production stuff. I’d likely put everything on one, and use the other strictly as a hot backup.

They’re all tied together with a mirrored pair of 10Gbps HP switches, and the switches are tightly configured with VLANS (storage, vmware, management, public, private, etc) and access rights.