Cache invalidation with nested objects

Hi everyone

In these days of relative calm, I’d like to talk to you about a topic that I’ve been carrying around since I’ve been a developer without ever finding the perfect solution: cache invalidation with nested objects.

This is the scenario:

Product.cfc:

property name="id" type="String"
property name="categories" type="Category[]"

Category.cfc:

property name="id" type="String";

When I read a “Category”:

function getCategory( id ) {

// check that the object is not already in cache
     // if yes, return it

if ( cacheIdExists("category_" & id) ) {

return cacheGet( "category_" & id )

} else {

// Otherwise I create it

var categoryBean = new Category();
         categoryBean.setId( id );

cachePut( "category_#id#", categoryBean );

return categoryBean;

}
}

When I read “Product”:

function getProduct( id ) {

// check that the object is not already in cache
     // if yes, return it
     if ( cacheIdExists( "product_" & id) ) {

return cacheGet( "product_" & id )

} else {

// Otherwise I create it

var productBean = new Product()
         productBean.setId( id );

var categories = [];

for ( var categoryId in list_categories_from_db ) {

//ok, I don't do exactly that but it's to explain that
             // inside the "Product" object there are the categories in cache

categories.add(
                 getCategory( categoryId )
             )

}

productBean.setCategories( categories );

cachePut( "product_#id#", productBean );

return productBean;

}
}

As you can see, I cached the entire “Product” object, including its “Categoy” children.
But now I have the problem that when I edit a category, I should invalidate the cache of all linked “Product” objects.

It’s quite simple when there’s a parent and a few children, but it gets really complex if there are many, very nested children, children, children…

The solutions that I have found and that I apply depending on the complexity are these: