Getting started with Lucee Newbie

Hi team,
I am new to lucce. We are planning to migrate our application from coldfusion 8 to Lucce.
Can you help here with the below:

1. Which version is the stable/customer version of Lucce
  2. Which platform do you recommend to use for Lucce migration (Windows/Linux/Ubuntu)
  3. Process to be followed to achieve the migration. Installation, Environment set-up, Migration of code base etc…,
    Thanks & Regards,
    Madhusudhana

I am new to lucce.

Welcome!

Which version is the stable/customer version of Lucce

Which platform do you recommend to use for Lucce migration

Whichever you prefer. Generally speaking, if it runs Java, it runs Lucee.

Process to be followed to achieve the migration. Installation, Environment set-up, Migration of code base etc…,

That’s sort of a big question, but I’d start here with our list of known incompatibility with Adobe ColdFusion.

A lot of those features and tags probably didn’t exist in CF8 so your code is more likely to run with fewer issues.

The easiest thing to do is to simply spin up a site, add in your datasoruces and test your code out. There are tool for importing configuration from Adobe CF, but they only current support back to CF9 so you’ll need to at least add in your datasources and any mapping manually.

The quickest way to spin up a server with the latest version of Lucee is to grab the CommandBox CLI and run

box server start

in your web root.

2 Likes

Everything Brad said, I’d only suggest starting with the latest RC, your testing and migration is going to take a little while, so rather than battle anything already fixed since stable, I’d be testing against the 5.3.7 RC which will soon become stable.

Have a look at the issues with the acf-compat label in JIRA to see open incompatibilities between Lucee and ACF.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response.
I do not see 5.3.6 release. what i see is 5.3.6.61 @ https://download.lucee.org/. Is that the open i have to pick?